Stronger and better.

Another weekend over.

The lifeguard class went well. I was a nervous walking into the class Friday because I have known two of the girls who were taking it since they were little. In fact, I baby sat them many years ago. Once I got over the initial nerves it was a lot of fun to teach them. At times it was difficult to remember that they are no longer little girls, and it was wonderful to see what strong, beautiful young women they have grown into.

As an instructor it is encouraging to hear that your students are leaving confident in their skills. Lifeguarding is more than sitting in a chair with a whistle getting a tan. A lot of hard work and time goes into achieving your certification. I hope that none of my students have to use their skills, but I know that they can handle any situation that comes their way.

Teaching has been such a wonderful experience and has been so good for me the past few months. It is important for me to remember that I have many skills and talent that can open unexpected doors in unique ways. True, at the end of a lifeguard class I am extremely exhausted, but I also feel a sense of pride and accomplishment. I hope I leave each of my students stronger and better than they started, because I know that is how they leave me.

Tomorrow will be a little bit easier and I will become a stronger me everyday.

Leave a Reply

