Test of time.

You know what show I really should not be watching right now?

If you guessed “How I Met Your Mother” you would be right. The whole show is about relationships. Some are successful, some not so much. Through the 4,576 min of the show are at least three canceled weddings, who knows how many break ups and one night stands, one divorce and one death. After the first major break up I was sure I should stop. When the first wedding was canceled I almost started crying, but for some reason I keep watching. I can not relate to many parts of the show, but I can appreciate the struggle and desire to find a relationship that is real and will stand the test of time.

There have been times that I have wished everything that I am going through could be scripted and could be stop and start it at will. Unfortunately, that is not real life nor is it the way to heal and move on. The redeeming quality is that the show does portray with some accuracy the pain of being left at the altar. I can also appreciate that the characters, for the most part did not immediately bounce back after heartbreak, there is a bit of a recovery process after each break up and everyone handles it differently.

For me it is interesting to hear a love story being told by someone who has known loss and never gave up on the potential of future relationships. This is something that I am trying desperately to do as well. It is impossible to know what the future holds, but I am doing my best to hold on to hope.

Tomorrow will be a little bit easier and I will become a stronger me everyday.

