An extremely happy thing.

Some mornings I wake up and my mind is going a mile a minute, but my body has not caught up yet. These days are trouble from the start. Once I finally drag myself out of bed, my mind has already traveled far away on an imaginary adventure and does not want to come back to reality.

This morning when I was dreading the rest of the day, an extremely happy thing happened! I got a message from one of my instagram friend, Rebecca who runs the business Grace and Salt ink. She told me that I won the photo contest she was running, I honestly did a happy dance right where I stood.

The contest was to take a picture of your pocket prayer journal as it travels with you. I have found great comfort in my journal, so I was happy to participate. In fact I posted a few pictures for the competition. My winning image was a short video clip I took while I was on my hike at a local state park. There is a waterfall in the background with the peaceful sounds of running water. It was a wonderful day, and I am glad I can add another layer of happiness to it.

Throughout the past few months I have been amazed by the connections I have made, and those that have faded away. I have been so blessed by my growing friendship with Rebecca. It is nice to have someone you can message with a prayer request and is always quick with an encouraging word. Seeing her pictures pop up in my feed always makes me smile, especially when they include her adorable daughter.

Today goes to show you that some days start off a little rough, but can end with joy. I think it is important to remember that because if you are never searching for the silver lining, you may never find it.

My winning entry:

 

Tomorrow will be a little bit easier and I will become a stronger me everyday.


Want to get a Pocket Prayer Journal of your own? 
Find them at Grace and Salt Ink. These wonderful little journals are perfect to help you remember prayer requests or to put prayers on paper that are too hard to say. The concept behind them is inspired by 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18 [ESV] “Rejoice always, pray without ceasing, give thanks in all circumstances”

One thought on “An extremely happy thing.

Leave a Reply

