Life of a lifeguard.

I was not looking forward to this weekend. However, I have been pleasantly surprised how much fun I have had. The entire weekend has been spent in the cement box of the pool, while outside the sun has been shining with nothing but blue skies. I will probably smell like chlorine for the next month, but it is worth it because as the end of it all I will be one step closer to becoming a Lifeguard Instructor.

When I first got my lifeguarding 15 years ago I never thought I would be here. Over the years I have become a strong lifeguard and comfortable with my skills. It is a little scary and exciting to take it to the next level. The thing I can rely on is the fact I know the skills, muscle memory is on my side. I need to get stronger at articulating how to perform each lifesaving rescue, but as with most things, time and practice is the best cure.

From day one to the end of day two I can say proudly that I am more confident and excited to take on future teaching opportunities. Tomorrow is the true test to see how well the lifeguard candidates have been instructed, I have high hopes for many successes. Lifeguarding is one of my passions and I am proud to pass it on to future generations of lifeguards.

Tomorrow will be a little bit easier and I will become a stronger me everyday.

Leave a Reply

