Useless Information.

It is crazy how much we learn about the person we are in a relationship with. Their likes and dislikes, habits, and an assortment of other odds and ends. After the relationship is over for one reason or another all this gathered information is useless. It is kind of sad when you think about it, when it seemed like there was no end to what you have built together, all the knowledge was priceless.

Knowing what type of movies he liked and his Chinese order was important, now it is something I wish I could forget. At times this information follows me. Last week I got a sub for lunch and it was strange not placing his favorite sub order alongside mine. I scroll through Netflix and see shows that we watched together, or ones he watched alone and there is a twinge of pain. Sometimes I turn a corner and something hits me out of the blue.

I would like to say these pockets of knowledge disappear, but I know from experience that some stick with you for years. It is amazing the impact we have on another person. Sometimes I wonder what shadows I have left on other people. I guess some questions we will never have answers to.

Tomorrow will be a little bit easier and I will become a stronger me everyday.

Leave a Reply

