Why I still lifeguard.

Most mornings I walk circles while I lifeguard. Around and around the pool as I watch people go back and forth and back and forth. It is a very soothing calm time of the day. Sometimes I wish I could bottle up the serenity to release it as needed. In my controlled environment of the pool I always think. The complexities of life somehow make more sense as the swimmer go by with rhythmic strokes. The two hours I lifeguard are my short escape from my reality. I have no phone, most of the people I will come in contact with throughout the day are still asleep and my goal and focus are easy to define. It is the perfect escape.

I am often asked why I still lifeguard. Usually I say it is the people, which is true, the morning swimmers are an amazing bunch. There are a few simple benefits to working at the YMCA that don’t discourage me from the effort. Of course the extra fun money is nice as well. Beyond all of those outward reasons I think the true reason I still get up 4 out of 5 work days to lifeguard is the peace and quiet it provides me. The rest of the day I feel like I am in a rush for this or that. There is always the next thing that should be done, but at the pool I have time to think and imagine. A time where my goal is easily defined and executed. I keep the swimmers safe. Sometimes it is nice to know what is expected of you and to know you can handle it.

Tomorrow will be a little bit easier and I will become a stronger me everyday.

One thought on “Why I still lifeguard.

  1. I imagine there’s a great deal of purpose that comes with lifeguarding. Like, the gift of being of service.

    I feel, in a similar way about teaching. It’s like my spiritual battery charge. At the end of the day, I feel good, generally, about the work I do. Thanks for the great reminder!

    Like

Leave a Reply

