Happy endings.

Sometimes when I get to a sad part of a book I am re-reading I contemplate skipping to when the characters are happy. In the past I have taken this route, but lately it feels like the wrong decision. Books are meant to show us we too can overcome the impossible and concur out fears. Whether the book is fiction or nonfiction there is always a trial that must be faced and the growth that takes place to get to the happy ending is what really matters.

If it wasn’t for the pain and struggle we would never relate to characters as we read. I, for one have my favorite books that I have read more times than I care to admit. Some I am drawn to seasonally, for example in the winter I always want to read the Little House books, the last few are my favorite. Some are emotional reads that I turn to when I need to be reminded that I can get through whatever frustration or pain I am facing.

I am so thankful for the world I find in books and that they are always ready to take me on an adventure. Maybe someday the books I turn to after a love lost will no longer be needed. For now I will take hold of my beloved characters and let them remind me that even after great pain happy endings exist.

Tomorrow will be a little bit easier and I will become a stronger me everyday.

Leave a Reply

