A certain level of comfort.

There is something amazing about being welcomed into an environment. Some places you walk in on your first day, but it feels like you have been there for much longer. Other places are familiar, yet never comfortable. Everyone needs that home away from home. The place that takes you as you are and helps you to become better. When you find it, never let it go, and never forget what it was to you in your time of need. If you are lucky, someday you can make it the safe place for someone else when they feel otherwise lost.

I have often joked you can always tell the adults who grew up in the church. There is a certain level of comfort that is easily obtained by children and translate into their adult experience. That is not to say that every church is actually the same, they just have certain similarities. No matter what, I know after communion I help pick up the little plastic cups. Somehow every church has the kitchen set up exactly the same and it is always easy to find what you need. I have always had a certain comfort level the moment I walk into any church.

In my experience, every church has that wonderful lady, or group of ladies that somehow understand what you need to hear and they goes out of their way to see you. I have been blessed to have many of these women in my life, but have not always taken advantage of their knowledge and wisdom. That was a huge mistake. I have decided to take any and all wisdom they are willing to impart on me. After all someday I hope to be one of those wonderful ladies, so I better start learning all I can.

Tomorrow will be a little bit easier and I will become a stronger me everyday.  

Leave a Reply

