The look.

Sometimes, when I am asks how I’m doing, I forget that something is supposed to be wrong. Usually the person is giving me a funny look, the kind of look you give when you are not sure you actually want an answer. Every time I wonder how long until I no longer get those looks.

At the beginning my worst fear was being asked how I was doing. It is such a simple question, but I did not want to lie, even though I did almost every time. If I had answered truthfully every time I am not sure I would have had enough tears to get me through. My real answers were saved for my writing and shared with whoever wanted to take the time to read and know how I have been doing.

It is strange how quickly I have fallen into the new normal. I know nothing is as it was before and it never will be. After some experiences you can never go back, honestly, I don’t know why you would want to. Before I was not this strong, but everyday I get stronger and heal a little more. I can face simple questions with confidence, despite any look I may get. Maybe someday the look will not be there at all.

Tomorrow will be a little bit easier and I will become a stronger me everyday.

Leave a Reply

