The best year.

2017 was going to be my year. I literally ran into the New Year and I made him go with me. We started at 12:50 p.m. on December 31, 2016 and finished on January 1, 2017 at 1:15 a.m. It was perfect. I know it is a strange, nontraditional way to welcome the New Year but we were doing something we both enjoyed and we were doing it together.

At the end of January I turned the dreaded 30, but I did not dread it. I was looking forward to everything the year was going to bring. I was marrying my best friend, we had plans and dreams. It was going to be perfect. Little did I know what 2017 was going to turn into, how quickly things could change.

Sometimes I look back on our relationship and I wonder why I didn’t end it sooner. There were so many signs, but I was in love and looking at everything through rose-colored glasses. That is not to say that we had a bad relationship, there were many good things about it. I will miss many parts being with him, and there are many parts I will not.

I have said multiple times that I am grateful if I was going to be in a situation like this that I was older. I think in my early to mid 20’s I would not have been able to pull myself together. I get up in the morning, I work, I run, I shop, I talk. I am not saying that it is easy, it is a daily struggle. I know many difficult days are still to come and will continue for a long time.

From the beginning I thought 2017 would be unforgettable. I was right. It will forever be the year I was drawn closer to family and friends. It will be the year that became stronger. I have a feeling it will be the best year ever.

Tomorrow will be a little bit easier and I will become a stronger me everyday.

Leave a Reply

