Silver lining.

The past week has had both good and bad moments. It started off rough, but every day felt like it had a silver lining hidden somewhere within. Monday stands out in particular as a day I do not want to go back to, but it had the most fantastic silver lining. My Aunt Bonnie and Uncle Dave sent me a special package.

I opened the box and there was something wrapped in blue tissue paper tied with a bow. Inside was a stuffed lamb. The card my that came with it from my Aunt and Uncle said that they have “experienced times that it feels like God is far away, but He is always near.” When I called them teary eyed to thank them my Aunt told me to give the little lamb a hug and remember someone is always thinking and praying for me.

img_7231The Lamb is part of a non-profit organization called Ruthie’s Lamb. They sell a variety of lamb themed items, form necklaces to plush toys. All money from purchases and donations are given Christian humanitarian programs.

Ruthie’s Lambs was started by the family of a women named Ruth. As a child Ruth had a lamb that she was quite fond of, so that was what they decided to center their theme on. As an adult Ruth was a professor at Malone University in Canton, Ohio, until she was diagnosed with cancer and passed away too young in 2009.

As a child, my mom grew up with Ruth and her sisters and my Aunt Bonnie and Uncle Dave continue to be good friends with the families. A few years ago I met one of the sisters while visiting my Aunt and Uncle, she and her family were fun to get to know. It is amazing what a small world we live in. You never know what person will impact you later on. A moment that seems small at the time, later on, with fresh eyes is so defining.

Beyond being unbelievably adorable and soft, my little lamb has been a wonderful edition to my recovery. It serves as a constant reminder of all the people who care and love me, and that I have a lot to be thankful for.

Tomorrow will be a little bit easier and I will become a stronger me everyday.

One thought on “Silver lining.

  1. Hi Christi. So glad to now be in touch through your blog, and happy your little lamb has brought you some joy. We remember the lovely afternoon we spent together at your Aunt Bonnie and Uncle Dave’s home We do have ties that go way back, don’t we? … My sister Ruth was a very good friend of your Uncle David on your Dad’s side and, your Grandma Walter and my mother were best of friends in College… now that’s the beauty of families in the Lord… the Holy Spirit binds us together and gives us these “moments” you so eloquently describe! Much love to you, Christi. .

    Like

Leave a Reply

