Table for one please.

I hate leftovers… well most leftovers.

For a little less then two years I have been in a relationship with someone who loves leftovers, all leftovers. I never had to worry about food sitting in the refrigerator until I gave up and threw them away. It has been nice.

img_6962Now I’m trying to remembering how to cook for one.

Cooking for one does have it’s benefits. It means I buy less and therefore spend less. I can cook what I want and like, when I like. If I want to eat at 5:30, I eat at 5:30, if I want to eat at 9, I do. There is a freedom that is refreshing.

With all that being said, I still miss cooking for two. I miss sitting down and eating with him. It was nice to have someone to appreciate my cooking and to try new things with.

The past six months or so I have enjoyed learning more about cooking by subscribing to Blue Apron, a meal subscription box. The box has 3 meals for two people. It was a great way to spread my culinary wings and try new foods and recipes from all over the world. Unfortunately, it is too much for me to do on my own, I will really miss this part of cooking for two. I wish there was an option for a single person meal subscription.

Maybe someday all this will change and I will be back to enjoying cooking for another. In the mean time, I hope to have the chance to cook for friends and family. But for the everyday it will simply be a table for one.

Tomorrow will be a little bit easier and I will become a stronger me everyday.  

One thought on “Table for one please.

Leave a Reply

