A really bad Hallmark movie. 

At work we joke about the cheesiness of Hallmark movies. The girl always gets the guy against all odds. Two people who seem to have nothing going for them end up on top of the world with their happily ever after.

Right now I could use a little Hallmark movie magic. Not a lot, just enough to make me feel less abandoned and more wanted. Don’t take that the wrong way, I have plenty of family and friends that continue to be extremely supportive. I feel an overwhelming amount of love in my life. What I mean is I want that person to go home to every night. The person to plan trips, watch movies and go grocery shopping with. You know, all the things I thought I had.

It’s excruciatingly frustrating to wait 30 years, think you found the one. Your Prince Charming, your Gilbert, your Sully, your Mr. Darcy. Just to be left heartbroken once again. I always knew life wasn’t a Hallmark movie, or a fairy tale, but I guess I didn’t realize it was going to feel like a tragedy, but then I know that’s not a fair statement either.

As Sleeping Beauty said, “Someday my prince will come.” Until then I will focus on becoming a stronger, better me… and maybe watch some Pride and Prejudice, Anne of Green Gables, Dr. Quinn, and a few Disney movies for good measure. After all, I don’t have to share the remote.

Tomorrow will be a little bit easier and I will become a stronger me everyday.  

Leave a Reply

